Project 1: Sketch! Like Your Life Depends On It! (DV)

DSC_0984a

Each student is then required to produce 8 number of sketches on suitable A5 size paper (landscape)
Students are required to sketch the followings; (free hand sketches)

  1. Body Parts / Figure / Nature
  2. Object Projection
  3. Detail
  4. Geometric Projection
  5. Tracing a picture (rendering)
  6. One point Perspective
  7. Two point Perspective TULC
  8. Artistic Representation of a famous building

From this assignment, I have learned various techniques of sketching. I also learned to be more observant of my surroundings and pay attention to the details of objects. Some of the drawings required charcoal, artline & other media so I was able to hone my skills in using these tools. For the eighth sketch which is artistic representation of a famous building, I experimented with coffee as my media to do Big Ben. It was interesting as the final product had this glossy surface to it due to the sugar from the coffee. I also had problems when using this media as it only comes in one shade. To fix the problem, I mixed the coffee with black acrylic paint to get a darker shade.

 

2014-02-14 16.52.28

DSC_0237 DSC_0238 DSC_0239 DSC_0240 DSC_0241 DSC_0242 DSC_0243

Leave a comment