Project 3: Art + Architecture + Culture (C&C)

17

DSC00199

DSC_1777

 

Part I: You are required to do a literature research on places of interest of your site visit. From the literature review, you are to study the theme given and its connection between the historical, architectural and social aspects of the place. Documenting the right building, spaces and places with the right content is important in this project. You are advised to work closely with your tutor to ensure you are on the right track.

Part II: You are to design a graphical expression of your findings in a postcard series with a proper packaging that complement the final postcard design. The postcard series will create awareness and educate your audience on the subject matter or focus of the study. This includes design & layout, purpose, content, writing style, colours and etc. You are strongly encouraged to meet with us regularly for further assistance.

For this assignment, I have to do a literature research of a place and that place is Kuala Lumpur. The theme and concept I have chosen is British Colonial Architecture and Landmarks. From the research, I have learned a lot about the various buildings around Dataran Merdeka and some places in Kuala Lumpur. The buildings I covered are the Old High Court, Old KL Railway Station, KTM Administration Building, Sultan Abdul Samad Building, National History Museum, City Theater and Masjid Jamek. These buildings were built during the British reign and was under it’s influence. The architects were British as well. Besides that, to get to these places I used the KTM and LRT. I don’t normally use public transportation but from this assignment I was able to learn how to use them.

Part 2 requires us to take photos and make a set of ten postcards on our theme and concept with proper packaging. The first time I went to take the pictures, I did not how I should take the photos but after the tutorial session, I managed to take good photos that can be used in my design. Before designing the postcards, I had to research about the measurements and elements of a postcard. The captions on the postcard is written based on my research report and supported with pictures I took. I was able to hone my Photoshop skills through this assignment. The postcards had to be printed at a print shop so I also learned about the process of printing as well.

 

Postcards:

10 11 12 13 14

 

Packaging

15

 

Research Report

Leave a comment